Gingerbread Biscotti

gingerbread-biscotti

In addition to the yummy chocolate biscotti, I made these gingerbread biscotti for my holiday packages.  I enjoy gingerbread overall, but I am not crazy about it so I wasn’t sure what to expect from these.  However, I really loved them!  The “ginger” element of the flavor was just right and not too overwhelming.  The cinnamon chips are really the perfect mix-in so I highly encourage you to seek them out if possible (although I’m sure regular old chocolate or white chocolate chips would be fine too).  Unfortunately I made only the exact amount needed for my holiday packages, so I’m going to make another batch very soon so I can enjoy more than just a leftover corner piece!

Recipe Rewind: tried and true favorites I’ve made recently
Shrimp enchiladas – YUM!

Gingerbread Biscotti
Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/4 cups packed dark brown sugar
1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 bag Hershey’s cinnamon chips
1/4 cup molasses
2 large eggs
2 cups chocolate chips or coarsely chopped chocolate, for dipping

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 35o degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine flours, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt,  spices and cinnamon chips in the bowl of a stand mixer.  Mix on low speed just to combine.  In a small bowl, combine eggs with molasses and stir well.    With the mixer on low speed, pour egg mixture into dry ingredients and mix until just combined.

Divide the dough into two equal halves and form into two 10-inch logs on the prepared baking sheets, at least 4 inches apart.  The logs should be about 10 inches long by 4 inches wide (they will spread during baking), and about 1 1/2 – 2 inches deep.  Bake for about 30 minutes, then allow to cool for 10 minutes.  Using a long serrated knife slice each log into 3/4-inch to 1-inch pieces on the diagonal.  Separate on the baking sheet so that the sides are not touching.  Bake for an additional 10 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let cool completely.

Place chopped chocolate or chocolate chips in a double boiler and melt until smooth.  Dip half of each biscotti into the chocolate, shake gently to remove excess, and place on wax paper to set.

Source: adapted from Picky Palate

27 Responses

  1. These look delicious! I’ve discovered this year how much I really like the chocolate-ginger combination. I bet the cinnamon chips were a great addition too 🙂

  2. These look and sound fantastic!

    I like the new look of your blog, too 🙂

  3. They look great, I would love to try making them.

  4. These look great! I love gingerbread so I will have to try these!

  5. Ginger is my new favorite addition to baked goods. I can’t get enough. These look so good. Bet they will be a great accompaniment to coffee with gingerbread creamer.

  6. I bet this would be great dipped in White chocolate spiked with some cinnamon and maybe a dab of cream cheese!

    I love your blog and all of your pics make me so jealous!

  7. YUM! I love ANYTHING gingerbread! These look great!

  8. I haven’t been a big fan of gingerbread unless it’s the soft and chewy cookie… but I’d definitely would try this biscotti. So festive!

  9. I love these. My mother who is allergic to chocolate misses out on fun stuff like this and I think I will make these gingerbread biscotti but dip in white chocolate for her. Lovely idea! Thanks for posting!

    http://www.homewithmandy.com

  10. They look great! I love gingerbread biscotti…it’s the only one I’ll eat. I have a bag of cinnamon chips in my pantry too!

    Happy 2009!
    ~ingrid

  11. Hi there! These look awesome. Just one question, maybe I’m ignorant, but where is the ginger in the recipe?

    • Hi Megan,
      You’re not missing it – it isn’t there. Not all gingerbread flavored recipes actually have ginger in them. Often other flavor combinations can also provide the gingerbread taste – in this case the dark brown sugar and the molasses. Hope that helps.
      🙂 Annie

  12. Ok, I was wondering is that was the case. Thanks so much for the help!

  13. This looks like a great recipe – no butter or oil?

    • Yep, not every recipe needs butter or oil. I think the eggs and molasses are all the dough needs to stay together. Enjoy!

  14. Are these soft? They look it! love chewy biscottis!

  15. Is this biscotti of the chewy, crispy, or rock-hard variety?

    • Lindsay,
      I know it isn’t rock-hard, but it’s been a while since I had it. I’m thinking somewhere between crispy and chewy.

  16. Hi Annie,
    I made these yesterday and the dough was all crumbly, I had to push it into a log with my hands, and then after baking, they were rock hard. Did I do something wrong??

    • Hi Sara,
      Sorry to hear you had trouble with them! I don’t know where you might have gone wrong, but it sounds like there wasn’t enough liquid to keep the dough sticking together and moist through baking. When I made mine, I remember the dough being fairly sticky so I don’t know what might have been the issue.

  17. Is the only liquid the 1/4 cup molasses and the 2 eggs? Are those amounts correct?

    Is Biscotti supposed to be rock hard or should I just through this batch out and try again?

    • Sara,
      Yes, those amounts are correct. Some biscotti can be rock hard, but in my experience, these were not (more chewy-crisp). If you don’t like them that way, I suppose you could try again. I hope they work next time!

  18. I made these for a gift exchange at my office last week and they were incredible! I dipped one side of each instead of one half just because I like a little chocolate in each bite 🙂 Still can’t find cinnamon chips but I’m looking!

  19. Wow these came out amazing! thanks so much for the recipe. i baked over 5 different cookies today (after living in a college dorm the past 4 months i had to catch up on my baking!!!) and these were a perfect addition to my christmas usuals. I’m sure they will be a future staple!
    During the initial mix, the dough seemed a little dry–it just wasnt coming together how i expected it to. I found that adding about 2 tablespoons of water to the bowl i mixed the molasses and eggs in after i poured out the mixture solved the “too dry” problem. Hope this helps!

  20. […] to Annie’s Eats for the […]

  21. This recipe looks great-I’ll try it out today! I appreciate the recipe, since my daughters and I have been baking like fiends for Christmas packages (when you don’t get paid until Christmas eve, the gifts may come a little late) and I made my first biscotti yesterday and was surprised by how very easy it was. My friends who were visiting offered to “help” by “testing” them for me. I’ll need to bake more to give away to family and friends, and these sound like they will go very nicely packaged together with the double-chocoalte ones I made yesterday!

    Your recipes always sound great, and your photos are amazing. Keep up the good work, please!

Leave a comment