Bananas Foster Bread Pudding

It’s been a while, but my friend Chelle and I decided to get back to our old habit of blogging together occasionally.  When I asked her to come up with something we could make together, she sent me a long list of things that sounded great but one that really stood out to me was bread pudding.  I’ve only had bread pudding once before, and really was not a fan.  But, I know it is one of Ben’s favorite desserts, so I decided it was time I give it a shot.  When she suggested this particular recipe I knew it would be perfect, because one of Ben’s other favorite desserts is bananas foster.

Turns out, I actually do like bread pudding.  I think part of my issue with the one and only time I ate it was just that it was not at all what I had expected.  I have texture issues with some foods, particularly things that are mushy, so I think that put me off a bit.  But now I’m a convert.  Ben and I both loved this dessert.  The banana flavor is very strong and it just tastes amazing!  Now that I’ve realized that, in fact, I do like bread pudding, there are a LOT of variations I would like to try.  Get ready to see more bread pudding recipes coming your way!

Bananas Foster Bread Pudding
Ingredients:
For the bread pudding:
3 eggs
2 egg yolks
1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 cup overripe bananas, pureed
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
1 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
5-6 cups French bread, torn up into pieces

For the sauce: 
8 tbsp. unsalted butter
1/2 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
2 bananas, sliced
3 tbsp. dark rum

Directions:
To make the bread pudding, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  In the bowl of a mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, combine the eggs and egg yolks and whisk on medium speed until frothy.  Add in nutmeg, cinnamon, banana puree and vanilla extract.  Whisk until fully incorporated.  Add in both sugars and whisk until well combined.  Add in the cream and whisk until incorporated.  Add the bread pieces to the egg mixture and mix until the bread has absorbed most of the liquid.  Pour pudding into baking dish (I used a 2 qt. oval dish, but individual dishes are fine too).  Let sit for 30 minutes.

Place the baking dish(es) inside a larger dish and add 1 inch of hot water to create a water bath.  Bake uncovered for about 1 hour (5-10 minutes less for smaller dishes), or until the pudding is no longer runny.

To make the bananas foster sauce, heat a large skillet over low heat.  Add the butter and brown sugar and cook, stirring constantly, until the sugar has just begun to dissolve into the butter.  Add the banana slices.  Moving the skillet back and forth, cook for 1 minute.  Remove the skillet from the heat and add the rum.  Return to the stove and tilt the pan to ignite the liquor.  After the alcohol burns off, add the cream.  Stir until fully incorporated.  Serve immediately over warm bread pudding.  (Sauce can be refrigerated, and then reheated on the stove.) 

Source: adapted from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody

14 Responses

  1. Glad you are learning to like bread pudding.

  2. Hi Annie! I am fairly new to your blog but it has quickly become a daliy read for me and I have already made a few things! I love bread pudding. I have made Paula Deen’s Chocolate bread pudding and it is always a hit, I serve it with fresh whipped cream, you should try that one out…it is sooooooo good! Here is the link:
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,1977,FOOD_9936_33093,00.html

  3. Just read about a similar dessert creation in the latest issue of Bon Appetit magazine – HOLY YUM!!

  4. Oh yummy! I love, love, love bread pudding. This looks fantastic!

  5. Looks good. I love bread pudding.

  6. OMG you have combined my favorites in one killer dish – breadpudding and well anything with bananas!! Looks incredible !!

  7. I’m the same way. I don’t like mushy foods but I have always enjoyed bread pudding. I’ve made a banana one before but not banana fosters. I have some left over bread from yesterday’s dinner, so I’ll be giving this a try.

    Bring on the bread pudding! 🙂
    ~ingrid

  8. I have been following your blog for a little while now and I love it. You are such an inspiration! Can’t fathom how you do it all but I am thrilled to have the ideas and the great pictures as well. I can’t wait to try the bread pudding–if you are a convert, check out my post Drum Roll, please…it is a recipe for a chocolate croissant bread pudding that is so yummy.
    Thanks!

  9. Your picture looks delicious! I have it marked and now I absolutely have to try it!

  10. So glad we got back in the kitchen together, this was a fabulous dessert!

  11. […] Bananas Foster Bread Pudding ~ Annie’s Eats […]

  12. These look divine. I’m always on the lookout for new bread pudding flavors and a little banana and rum improves the flavor of everything!

  13. Would it it be possible to omit the bananas in this recipe? Would it change the consistency at all?

    • You can easily omit them from the sauce, but not from the bread pudding itself. It’s a key part of both the flavor and texture.

Leave a comment