Dog Treats

Last week I arrived at our babysitter’s house to pick up Andrew and she informed me that it was their dog Jim’s birthday.  Well, I made cupcakes for two of her daughters for their birthdays earlier this year, so it seemed fitting that I make some treats for Jim as well.  He is a super sweet dog – more catlike in a lot of ways, which makes me like him even more 🙂  Their youngest daughter (who, incidentally, will be receiving some very special birthday treats of her own today) has a peanut allergy so most of the dog treat recipes I have seen were not going to work.  A quick search led me to these dog treats on Nikki’s blog, and they seemed just right.  I already had almost all of the ingredients on hand, so that was an added bonus.  Normally I insist on trying essentially every recipe posted on my blog, but this is an exception.  I’m sure these are entirely edible but I did not even consider it.  Yuck.  But, both Jim and his canine brother Newman loved these treats!  They gobble them up, and I get a little extra attention from Jim whenever I come over now – win, win situation!

The birthday boy, Jim, standing at attention

The birthday boy, Jim, standing at attention

 

Yummy!

Yummy!

 

Newman enjoyed them too!

Newman enjoyed them too!

Dog Treats
Ingredients:
1 cup rolled oats
5 1/3 tbsp. unsalted butter, cut into 5 pieces
1 cup boiling water
3/4 cup cornmeal
2 tsp. sugar
2 tsp. beef bouillon granules
1/2 cup milk
1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
1 egg, beaten
3 cups whole wheat flour

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.  In a large bowl, combine the rolled oats, butter, and boiling water.  Let stand for 10 minutes.  Grease cookie sheets.

Add the cornmeal, sugar, beef bouillon, milk, Cheddar cheese, and egg to the bowl.  Mix well.  Stir in the whole wheat flour, 1 cup at a time, until a stiff dough has formed.  Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and knead, adding additional flour if necessary until the dough is smooth and no longer sticky.

Divide the dough in half.  Working with one half at a time, roll the dough out with a rolling pin to 1/2-inch thickness.  Cut with a cookie cutter and space evenly on prepared baking sheets.  Reroll remaining dough scraps and continue cutting until all dough has been used.

Bake 35-45 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden brown.  Let cool completely.

Source: adapted from Pennies on a Platter

15 Responses

  1. I’ve seen many recipes for dog treats but none for cat treats. Any ideas? We have a cat and I’ve often thought I’d rather make my own treats than by the bagged stuff.

    • Hi Nancy,
      I don’t know why cat treats aren’t seen more often, but I have seen cookbooks that have recipes for them. I’ll keep an eye out and try to post one in the future. I’m a cat person, after all 😉
      Annie

  2. aww, love jim and newman!! i need to make some for my friend’s pups 🙂

  3. My Pups is sick and at the vet today, I think I’ll be making these this weekend for him. Thanks!

  4. Those are some of the greatest dog names ever.

    I’ve never made dog treats, but I have two pups who I’m sure would love me forever if I did.

    You rock. A post a day. How DO you do it?

  5. That’s so sweet of you to do that.

  6. Very sweet.
    Why don’t you ever see recipes for cat treats?

  7. Adorable! I love making homemade treats for my girls too! Great pictures too!

  8. These are adorable! My doggy would love them. I have to make them with rye flour, though, since she’s not supposed to have wheat.

    Saw your picture on tastespotting!

  9. Those definitley sound edible, and the boys look happy enough. Happy birthday Jim!

  10. Also saw on tastespotting. These are great! I posted a link on my edible crafts column (ediblecrafts.craftgossip.com) because dogs deserve edible crafts mentions, too.

  11. What lucky dogs!

  12. I bet the dogs love these! But I wonder about the salt (bouillon, cheese)? I really have to watch my cat because she loves chips and popcorn (salty) because I know its bad for her (me, too, of course). Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  13. Hi, I am doing a bake sale at our school for our animal rescue organization. I thought it would be awesome for people to buy treats for their dogs to benefit other stray dogs. :~) Just wondering about how many “servings” this makes? Just want to be prepared. Also, do you know how long they keep? Thanks!

    • Hi Brandy,
      Unfortunately I really don’t remember how many this made – maybe 20ish? It’s hard to say. It will also depend on what size cookie cutter you use. I also can’t remember how long they keep, but I would guess maybe 1 week. I do remember our babysitter mentioning that they eventually went moldy, but I think that was after at least 2 weeks.

Leave a comment