Fauxstess Cupcakes


(Posted edited on Sept. 6, 2009 to add a new photo.)

These chocolate cupcakes that look just like a favorite childhood treat are way too cute to pass up!  That little curlicue of frosting, and knowing there is delicious filling inside – irresistible!  Of course these taste far superior to their store-bought counterparts.  In fact, Ben deemed them “the best cupcakes he has ever tasted”.  I’d call that a success!  Filled cupcakes are just so much fun, and so easy to do with a pastry bag.  The texture of the filling is not quite as light as that in the commercial version.  This could be due to the fact that I couldn’t find actual Marshmallow Fluff at the store and used marshmallow creme instead.  I guess I’ll just have to make them a second time to compare 😉

hostess-cupcakes

I was slightly disappointed that my chocolate topping did not turn out very smoothly, but I only have myself to blame.  I have found that anytime I make ganache in a particular non-stick saucepan of mine, it begins to separate almost as soon as it has formed.  This happens every time and yet I always seem to forget and make the same mistake.  Regardless, it tasted delicious.  I am smitten with these cupcakes and cannot wait to make them again!

Fauxstess Cupcakes

Yield: about 8-9 cupcakes

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:

½ cup plus 2 tbsp. cake flour

1/3 cup Dutch-process cocoa powder

½ tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. baking soda

1/8 tsp. salt

2 large eggs, separated and at room temperature

1/3 cup canola oil

½ cup plus 2 tbsp. sugar

2 tbsp. water

For the filling:

6 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

1 ½ cups confectioners’ sugar

¾ cup Marshmallow Fluff

1 ½ tbsp. plus 1 tsp. heavy cream

For the frosting:

¼ cup heavy cream

4 oz. bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

1 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°. Lightly coat the wells of a muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray, or line with paper liners.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together egg yolks, canola oil, ½ cup sugar and water until well combined. Add the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.

In a clean medium bowl, beat egg whites at high speed until soft peaks form. Gradually add remaining 2 tablespoons sugar and beat until stiff and glossy. Beat one quarter of the egg whites into the batter to lighten the mixture. Add remaining whites and gently fold the mixture together until no streaks remain.

Evenly divide the batter between the wells of the prepared muffin tin. Bake until the cupcakes spring back when lightly touched in the center, about 13-16 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly in pan before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.

To make the filling, in a medium bowl beat together the butter, confectioners’ sugar, Marshmallow Fluff and 1 ½ tablespoons of the heavy cream until fluffy. Reserve ½ cup of the mixture – transfer the rest to a pastry bag fitted with a ¼ – inch round tip. Beat the remaining 1 teaspoon of cream into the reserved ½ cup of filling, cover and reserve.

Gently insert the tip of the pastry bag about ½ – inch deep into the top of each cupcake and lightly squeeze in some of the filling.

To make the frosting, in a small saucepan heat cream over medium heat until steaming, stirring constantly. Remove from the heat, add the chocolate and let stand for 5 minutes. Add the butter and stir until smooth. Transfer to a small bowl and dip the top of each cupcake to thoroughly coat. Spoon the reserved filling into a pastry bag fitted with a very small plain tip and pipe curlicues across the center of each cupcake. Refrigerate the cupcakes for 10 minutes to set the frosting.

Source: adapted from Culinary in the Desert, originally from Food and Wine

26 Responses

  1. These look fabulous!! Perfect piping job, I can’t wait to try them!

  2. Those are too cute! Definitely brings me back to childhood.

  3. These look amazing! I’ve had my eye on this recipe for a while now, it’s good to know you gave them a good review! I can’t wait for the chance to try them.

  4. These are adorable! And a great idea for partys at school for the kids!

  5. those are so cute! you make me totally want to try them 🙂

  6. Filled cupcakes are the best, and your squiggles are so perfect!

  7. Those look so yummy! better than the original ;]

  8. Nice job! I made a different variation of these and they were good, too. I didn’t know you read Culinary in the Desert… Joe was my inspiration a few years ago to start my food blog! 🙂 Awwwwww…

  9. Those look great. Unfortunately, marshmallow fluff is really hard to come by here in the UK. You can only get it in speciality stores and the food halls of very upmarket department stores, so it’s really expensive. I have never seen marshmallow cream at all here.

  10. ooh these look so professional! how do you find the time?!

  11. These look amazing! Looking forward to trying this recipe! : )

  12. Too cute! Great recipe- I can’t wait to try it!

  13. Love the new and improved “adult” version of a childhood staple.

  14. So sweet! I’ll definitely be making these soon!

  15. Those look great!

  16. How flipping CUTE are these!!! Love them!

  17. How fun! I have always loved these cupcakes and am so thankful for a recipe to make them at home. Can’t wait to try them!

  18. Those look cute & yummy! I love the idea of trying filled cupcakes!
    I don’t think the commercial version uses marshamallow fluff nor marshmallow cream. I once made a Ding Dong cake (which you can search for on allrecipes for details) and that filling was made out of all sorts of other fattening things that made it taste like the real deal.

  19. How adorable! I bet they were fantastic.

  20. great piping job! they look great! i definitely want to try making these sometime for hubby!

  21. I decided to use these cupcakes for my “Pass the Plate” contribution. (Have you seen this program yet? KitchenAid is donating $5 to the Susan G. Komen foundation everytime someone registers a plate. I thought of you immediately and decided to use one of your recipies for my pass.)

    I cheated and used Bettercream filling instead of the homemade variety, but it was still good. 🙂

  22. Holy cow. I have been wanting to make these since you published this post, and I finally did last night for Valentine’s Day. These are AMAZING. They are my new favorite cupcake. I used my favorite chocolate cake recipe for the cupcakes (Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Cake recipe), but otherwise followed the directions exactly. They look beautiful and taste incredible. Thank you for sharing!

    P.S. — I love your blog! I have so many of your recipes starred on my google reader and can’t wait to try them all.

  23. […] that one for Hubby’s birthday this year. But for now I wanted cupcakes and recipe posted at Annie’s Eats seemed to fit the bill! Jaime also made these recently using Dorie’s recipe for Chocolate […]

  24. I am making these tonight for a friend that just had a baby…wish me luck, they look divine. Maybe I missed it, but do they make 12 or 24 cupcakes?

    • Hi Kristen,
      Unfortunately I do not remember for sure exactly how many this recipe yields. It has been a while since I last made them. From looking at the recipe, I would guess it yields about 12, but I just don’t know. Sorry!
      🙂 Annie

  25. I just found this recipe on your blog and thought it was such a cute idea! I love your blog – one of the first things I pull up in the morning with my coffee!

Leave a comment