Baked Potato and Broccoli Soup

It is really only recently that Ben and I have come to appreciate how great soup is. It is definitely a comfort food, and can be a meal in itself or a great accompaniment to a sandwich or other entree. Because of this newfound appreciation, I have been trying to find more soup recipes and this one is definitely a keeper.

This recipe is from Cooking Light, so it is very healthy. I don’t have any specific changes that I make other than to leave off the extra cheese for topping because I don’t find it necessary. This is the second time I have made this soup and I really like how quick and simple it is. We had this with yeast rolls on the side, and it was a great meal.

Baked Potato & Broccoli Soup
Ingredients:
¼ cup all-purpose flour
2 (14.5 oz) cans low sodium, fat-free chicken broth, divided
3 cups peeled, cubed potatoes (about 1.25 lbs)
2 cups broccoli florets, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
1 ¼ cups 2% reduced fat milk
1 (8 oz) block 2% reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
2% reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese, shredded, for topping (optional)
chopped green onions for topping (optional)
Freshly ground pepper (to taste)
Salt (to taste)

Directions:
Whisk together flour and 1/3 cup chicken broth until smooth.

Combine remaining chicken broth, potatoes, broccoli and onion in a Dutch oven (or large saucepan). Bring to a boil; cover, reduce heat, and simmer 8 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Gradually stir in flour mixture. Cook, stirring often, 5 minutes.

Stir in milk & 8 oz. of freshly shredded cheese. Cook mixture over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until cheese melts. Add salt & pepper to taste. Top each serving of soup with shredded cheese and green onions as desired.

**It is recommended to use fresh shredded cheese for creaminess and even melting.

8 Responses

  1. This looks great Annie. I am not usually a big fan of soup. But I am going to star this post so I can come back to it and make some yummy soup.

  2. Sounds delicious! I love me some potato soup! I will definitely be trying this recipe!

  3. I will be try this come winter when we live on soup!

  4. Ohhh, Jesse would love this! Thanks for posting!

  5. Mmm… looks yummy and comforting. 🙂

  6. Wow, that looks awesome. I love any soup with broccoli and cheese!

  7. Hi Annie –

    I have just recently found your blog and I love it! I love to cook as well and last night I made this soup and it was delicious – perfect for a cold and rainy evening (my husband loved it too)! Thank you!

  8. Just made this soup and loved it! Tried it as is, but when my husband complained about the chunks of broccoli (he’s not a veggie fan), I pureed it with an immersion blender. It actually tasted better! Love the recipe. Thanks!

Leave a comment