Blueberry Muffins

Today was a very happy day for me because my best friend Amanda and her new husband Travis moved to Indy. I’m so happy they are closer to us now so we can see each other more often. Ben and I helped them move in, and I thought it would be nice to bring a little goody basket for them since, having moved several times myself, I know stocking the fridge usually isn’t high on the list of priorities when you first get to a new place. I made a few different things to put in the basket including these muffins.

I’ve been making these blueberry muffins for quite some time now. This recipe is from Allrecipes and I must say, it is fabulous. It is best with fresh blueberries (I think that is always the case) but is still very tasty in the winter when only frozen are available. The only change I typically make is that I halve the amount of streusel topping. The original recipe makes more than twice what you actually need to top the muffins. The recipe below is with my changes.

Blueberry Muffins
yield: 8 muffins

Ingredients:
1 ½ c. flour
¾ c. sugar
½ t. salt
2 t. baking powder
1/3 c. vegetable oil
1 egg
~1/3 c. milk
1 cup blueberries (or more)

streusel topping:
¼ c. sugar
2 T. and 2 t. flour
2 T. butter, cubed
¾ t. cinnamon

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400°. Grease or line 8 muffin wells with muffin liners.

Combine flour, sugar, salt and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Fold in blueberries. Pour into lined muffin cups; fill to the top.

To make streusel topping, combine listed ingredients and mix well with a fork until crumbly. Sprinkle over tops of muffins.

Bake at 400° for 20-25 minutes.

12 Responses

  1. mmmmm … these looks wonderful! I’m going to try this recipe. I’m ready for a change from my usual blueberry muffin recipe.

  2. Blueberry Muffins are my favorite. These looks awesome!

  3. these look great and i’ve been looking for a real good blueberry muffin recipe for a long time…so thanks! 🙂

  4. I love blueberry muffins. These look awesome!!

  5. My 8year old son and i made this and used it for math and this tasted so Grrrreat. When it was done baking the appearence was Beautiful, i could not help but give some to my new neighbors. SURBERB RECEIPE….KEEPER!!!!TY

  6. These muffins are in the oven right now and smell great! Thanks!

  7. In the oven…. right now

    They look and smell GREAT so far

  8. I found this recipe on allrecipes, too. It is awesome! I made them once for my friend and once for my students. They ate them all!

  9. I made these blueberry muffins yesterday for my friend and her husband who brought a little baby girl into the world yesterday 🙂 They loved these muffins

  10. My husband thinks these are the best blueberry muffins!! I make them about once a week for a quick breakfast. I use frozen blueberries I buy in bulk and they work great. I really like only messing up one bowl for muffins too 🙂 Thanks for the “keeper” recipe!

  11. Ummmm yeah, these were pretty much amazing! So easy and good! The only question I had was how to get my topping more crumbly? The butter made the topping a little bit more moist. Did I do something wrong? Thanks Annie, so thankful my dear friend passed on your blog!

    • Jill,
      The main thing is just to make sure the butter is very, very cold when you start and to keep it chilled as much as possible while you combine the topping ingredients. That is the best way to keep it crumbly.

Leave a comment