Cheesecake Bites

This weekend we were invited to a high school graduation party in honor of my (not-so) little brother’s girlfriend Jessica.  She is a sweetheart and we were happy to celebrate with her.  Her favorite dessert is cheesecake, so I thought these cheesecake bites would be a great treat to bring for her.  Everyone really seemed to enjoy them.  These were incredibly simple to make, and the sauces on top = AMAZING.  The original cheesecake recipe says it yields 24, but I made 48 and could have made a few more.  Even with 48 cheesecakes, you could get away with making half-batches of the two toppings, but why do that when you could have some leftover to put on ice cream or pancakes, or just stuff into your mouth as I do 🙂  I particularly love the blueberry sauce and I think soon I will make some vanilla ice cream just so I can have this sauce on top.  Yum 😛


Mini Cheesecakes
Yield: 48+ cheesecakes 

Ingredients:
1 ¼ lb. cream cheese, at room temperature
¾ cup sugar
½ tsp. vanilla extract
¼ cup sour cream
2 eggs, at room temperature
3 tbsp. all-purpose flour 

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350°.  Line a mini-muffin pan with paper liners. 

To make the filling, in the bowl of an electric mixer beat the cream cheese on medium-high speed until fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Reduce the speed to low, gradually add the sugar and beat until smooth, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.  Add the vanilla and sour cream and beat until combined.  Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Add the flour and beat until combined. 

Divide the filling among the prepared muffin cups, filling each about ¾ full.  Bake until the cheesecakes are just set in the center, about 15 minutes.  Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let the cheesecakes cool in the pan for 5 minutes.  Using a small offset spatula, transfer the cheesecakes to the rack and let cool completely, about 45 minutes. 

Refrigerate the cheesecakes in an airtight container at least overnight or up to 3 days.  Spoon topping onto cheesecakes just before serving. 

Strawberry Sauce
Ingredients:
1 lb. strawberries, hulled and quartered
3 tbsp. powdered sugar

 

 

 

 

 

 

Directions:
Combine ¼ of the strawberries with the powdered sugar in a medium bowl.  Mash the strawberries with a fork until no large chunks remain.  Add the rest of the strawberries to the bowl and mix, covering the strawberries in the juices. 

Blueberry Sauce
Ingredients:
2 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen
¼ cup sugar
1 ½ tsp. cornstarch
1 tbsp. cold water
1 tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juiceDirections:
In a medium, nonreactive saucepan, heat the blueberries and sugar until the blueberries begin to release their juices.  Mix the cornstarch with the cold water and lemon juice until lump free, then stir the slurry into the blueberries.Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to a simmer and cook for 1 minute.  Remove from the heat.  Serve chilled or at room temperature.This sauce can be stored in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.

Source: cheesecake recipe adapted from Williams Sonoma, strawberry sauce from Annie’s Eats, blueberry sauce adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz, 10 Speed Press, 2007.

24 Responses

  1. Mmm these look so good! And cute too! I can see myself eating waaaay too many of these.

  2. Adorable! The only downside is that I’d be able to polish more of them at once – lol. Thanks for sharing the recipes!

  3. My very favorite holiday treat, dating back to when I was little. These look awesome and I love the homemade sauces! My mom used to top them with canned pie filling 🙂

  4. Yum, anything bite sized is good in my book. I’m loving the bluberry sauce recipe, I just put it on my to try list!

  5. Oh so yummy! I can’t wait to try these. You are always so inspiring. I have great hopes to someday have the skills to make beautiful food like you.

  6. Wow Annie, these came out perfectly! They look sso great. I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the idea of the blueberry sauce. Totally making that next time I make these!!

  7. They’re so cute with the two kinds of topping! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Adorable little cheesecakes! I bet they were wonderful tasting.

  9. These look delicious!!! And to answer the question you asked on my blog about my St. Lucia post – yes, we did stay at Ti Kaye!!! LOVED IT!! 🙂

  10. Very cute! Lovely photos, well done!

  11. Annie,

    These look great! Thanks for sharing!

  12. I love these – what a colorful and great idea. I have a big event coming later this month and have been asked to do the pastries…this would be amazing – thank you.

  13. these look wonderful! i plan on making a bi NY Style cheesecake at some point and i definitely want to uise that blueberry sauce on top.

    p.s. you’ve been tagged 🙂
    Check out my blog!

  14. wow, those are soooo pretty! i love the idea of bite sized desserts (though i always have to have more than one!) i have to try that blueberry sauce!

  15. I made these for a Wine & Cheese party – they were definitely the hit of the night! I didn’t use the sauces, instead I just used a bunch of different toppings (graham cracker crumbs, chocolate chips, coconut, and a type of chocolate sprinkle), and I also turned one set of 12 into chocolate cheesecake. They were all amazing, thanks for the recipe!

  16. can I get the same results if the cheesecakes are only left in the fridge for 6 hours? And the 1 1/4 cream cheese,is that 1 and 1/4 or just 1/4 of the cream cheese?

  17. Turned out really good! Very yummy. I used a basic graham cracker crust in the bottom of each mini paper cup and topped with mini chocolate chips.

    In answer to the question above… I think you could probably get away with it.

  18. If I wanna make about 60-70 of these, what ingredients should I modify or add more of?

    • Brittny,
      You would need to increase all of the ingredients in the batter, basically just making 25-50% more of everything. You’ll have to do that math for yourself.

  19. And what do u suggest as a mini/simple crust for them?

  20. A chum encoraged me to read this site, brill post, fascinating read… keep up the good work!

  21. Would these work in a regular size muffin pan? How long would you suggest cooking them for if done that way? Thanks!

    • I’m sure they would, but I’ve never tried it so I don’t know what the baking time would be.

Leave a comment