Cajun Grilled Shrimp

This week I am back to cooking full-time and could not be happier about it!  These shrimp are perfect for a summertime meal.  Quick and easy, light and delicious!  I served these with a salad and garlic cheddar biscuits for a fantastic dinner.  Although the spice rub is very simple to mix up, next time I may try some with just regular Cajun seasoning to make it even more low-maintenance.  I love Cajun seasoning and I think that would also give it a bit more heat.

Cajun Grilled Shrimp

Ingredients:

1 lb. shrimp, peeled and deveined

1-2 tbsp. olive oil

salt and pepper

½ tsp. dried thyme

½ tsp. dried oregano

½ tsp. paprika

½ tsp. garlic powder

pinch of cayenne pepper

 

Directions:

Pat the shrimp dry with paper towels.  Thread onto metal skewers.  Brush with olive oil.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Mix remaining spices in a small bowl.  Sprinkle spice mixture onto shrimp and pat lightly to help it stick.

 

Grill the skewers, covered, until the shrimp are barely charred and bright pink, about 6 minutes.

Source: adapted from Sensible Suppers and Decadent Desserts, originally from America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook

10 Responses

  1. This looks awesome! I have so many spices that recipes like this is appreciated, thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. I wish I liked shrimp because this sounds fantastic.

  3. Two of my favorite things – cajun & shrimp. What a great summer meal. 🙂

  4. Yum what a tasty and almost instant dinner!

  5. Oh yum!!! Spicy grilled shrimp is so delicious! This looks great!

  6. kudos to you for making your own cajun seasoning! these shrimp look perfectly tasty

  7. I bookmarked these and finally got a chance to make them this last weekend and they were amazing! I made one slight modification, which was that I mixed the olive oil and spices together. It was easier for my husband to remember, while he was trying to grill everything at the same time. Hehe!

  8. […] are put on skewers, brushed with oil and then rubbed with spices in this Cajun Grilled Shrimp […]

  9. My husband and I grilled these tonight, and they were fantastic! I love that the ingredients are all pantry items — perfect for work nights. We only had half a pound of shrimp, but I didn’t halve the recipe, so the shrimp really had a nice kick to it. Thanks, Annie!

  10. We made these tonight and they tasted awesome. we used extra spice like Elaine. when we make this again we will not use extra thyme.

Leave a comment