Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

Earlier this week I was planning on making some raspberry muffins for breakfast.  I had everything out and ready to go, and only then did I see that my raspberries were growing fuzz…eww!  Since I had my heart set on muffins, I decided to finally try this recipe as I have had it saved for quite some time.  Coincidentally it had similar ingredients overall, so it worked out perfectly.  As much as I hate waste, especially when it comes to one of my favorite fruits, I’m kind of glad my rasberries went bad because these muffins were great!  They look gorgeous with beautiful puffy domes, and they smell irresistible.  The peanut butter flavor is spot on.  I’m not a chocolate and peanut butter fiend as so many people seem to be, so I thought this was just the right amount and not too overwhelming.  Paired with a fruit and yogurt smoothie, these made for a quick and delicious breakfast.  I only made a half batch but now I’m definitely wishing I had made all 12!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients:

2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. salt

2/3 cup brown sugar

6 tbsp. butter, melted and cooled

½ cup peanut butter

2 large eggs

1 cup milk

¾ cup chocolate chips

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°.  Line a muffin pan with 12 paper liners.

 

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and brown sugar.  Set aside.

 

In a large bowl, whisk together the melted butter, peanut butter, eggs and milk until smooth.  Add in the flour mixture and stir until just combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Divide batter evenly between prepared muffin tins, filling each to the top.

 

Bake for 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes in the pan, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Source: adapted from Baking Bites

42 Responses

  1. I rarely bake but I might have to try this! I’ve been wanting to try something new and bring it in to share w/ my coworkers. Thanks!

  2. Annie these look awesome. They are totally going on my to-make pile, that is if I don’t end up making them tonight 🙂

  3. looks so good! I have been wanting to try the pumpkin/chocolate combination.

  4. These look gorgeous! My muffins never get the puffy domes so I’m very envious. Great job 🙂

  5. I just found your blog recently and I love it! Can you tell me which main dishes (if any) on your blog were good frozen? (I’m getting ready for Baby No. 2 and I want to stock my freezer before his or her arrival. Thanks!

  6. These look delicious! I love how puffy the tops are!

  7. i’m not huge on peanut butter and chocolate either so I think I’ll have to try these. hubby loves the combo!

  8. These look phenomenal. Thanks.

  9. These look delicious! I will absolutely be making these and not just because it gives me an excuse to eat chocolate and pb for breakfast 😉

  10. These look great and would go very well in my house because we love the combination of chocolate and pb.

  11. These look delcious! I love pb and chocolate together.

  12. These look excellent! I might try these this weekend!

  13. What a great idea. They look delectable!

  14. These look delicious! Great idea for me to bake, thanks!!

  15. These are like cookies in muffin form! Looks great!

  16. oh yum! i’m always making chocolate chip muffins! i don’t know why i’ve never added peanut butter to the mix!

  17. I love that combination! Yum!

  18. I just left you an award over at my blog. I’m sure you have a ton of blogging awards. But I wanted you to know that I think you ROCK!

  19. I’m just getting caught up with your blogs from the last week. Your “little man” in the last blog is so cute!!! He has grown so much. And I love your new floor.
    judy

  20. I bet these were delicious! Peanut butter and chocolate is always a great combination.

  21. All I can say is… YUM. My three favorite things: peanut butter, chocolate, and muffins!

  22. i will stop dead in my tracks for anything “peanut butter chocolate.” these are no exception..they look great! YUM!

  23. These are so yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

  24. I must make these asap.

  25. Peanut butter and chocolate are two of my favorites as well as my hubby. I may have to make these tonight, it’s only 9:30. I am sure they would be yummy for breakfast tomorrow morning and it means I don’t have to get up early on a Saturday to make it!

    Thanks!

  26. Love them, terrific combination! Just enough PB to chocolate!!!!

  27. I made these on Monday. I gave some away and kept some for myself, everyone loved them! I’ll be making these quite frequently:)

  28. Just made these… they are delicious! I love them.

  29. These are officially my favorite muffins for brunch (or anytime really!)

    I made them ‘non-dairy’ with margarine and soy milk (for a lactose-free friend) and they still came out moist and yummalicious!

  30. hi… im eating these now- right out of the oven…. YUMMY! thnx 🙂

  31. […] is fun, eating out all the time can get old quick. So I thought I would make them some treats. Annie’s Eats always has great muffin ideas, so I knew going to straight to her site would give me a great muffin […]

  32. […] Annie’s Eats Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Chocolate Chip muffinsNo-bake Oatmeal, Peanut […]

  33. Hi Annie! I just stumbled across your blog when searching for recipies to bring to new moms, and I’m so glad I did. Everything looks irresistable! I just made these muffins and they look so delicious. However, for some reason, they are very dense and dry. Any suggestions?

    • Hi Katie,
      I’m sorry they didn’t turn out for you. It’s hard to say what went wrong but I’m guessing it was either heavy-handed measuring of the flour (try spooning it in to the measuring cup, rather than scooping it) or overmixing (the most common way to make a dense muffin). Hopefully you have better luck next time!

    • I made these last night, and mine turned out a little dense and dry too…I probably did a little of both no-no’s (overmixing and not exact on flour). I was wondering if you thought sneaking some yogurt into the mix would work, though.

      • Lydia,
        You could certainly try it, but I’m never comfortable with altering baking recipes enough to significantly effect the liquid/dry ingredient ratio. They have turned out great every time I’ve made them.

  34. Just made these today, they were yummy! I think I overmixed (there were bits of peanut butter that just wasn’t blending into the batter well) but it still came out light and fluffy, whew! Hubby called it a “fluffy peanut butter cup”. Everyone loved them!

  35. I made these today and they turned out fantastically! Had to supplement the brown sugar for caster, unfortunately. I used chocolate chunks instead of chips and they’re absolutely delectable! Thanks for this great recipe.

  36. My husband is a huge chocolate and peanut butter fan, so, I had to make these for him. I was pleasantly surprised at how moist these muffins are. My husband loved them and asked me to make sure I make these again real soon!! Thanks for a great muffin!!

  37. I’ve been baking & cooking up a storm to freeze and I came across your recipe yesterday, made them today…They’re delicious and turned out great!

  38. Loved this..have made them several times for kids and it is their favorite muffin.. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment