Carrot Spice Muffins

I’m so happy to finally get around to posting these muffins!  I made these last weekend for brunch with Ben’s parents.  Ben always tells me that his dad likes carrot cake, so I thought these sounded like something he would enjoy.  I, on the other hand, am a long-time carrot hater (although I’m slowly turning that around) so I’m always hesitant to try baked goods with carrot in them.  These were really great though, and everyone (including me!) really liked them.  I thought they were a fantastic addition to our brunch spread.  They are very tender, mildly sweet, and the first word that comes to mind when trying to describe the flavor is warm.  I also loved how they baked up with beautiful domed tops, an important part of good muffins in my mind.  I would make these again in a heartbeat.  

My only issue in making them was shredding the carrot.  I was baking these in my dad’s kitchen which is incredibly unequipped and sometimes makes me feel as though I’m baking in the wilderness.  I ended up shredding them with a cheese grater (my own, mind you).  It was difficult and it took way too long.  I think a grater with larger holes might have been easier, but next time I’ll definitely use my food processor to do that job and avoid the mess!

Carrot Spice Muffins
Ingredients: 
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tbsp. baking powder
1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
2/3 cup canola oil
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
3/4 cup milk (I used 2%)
1 cup shredded carrot
1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut
1/2 cup raisins
1/3 cup pecans or walnuts, toasted and chopped (optional)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Line a muffin pan with paper liners.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, baking soda and salt.  Stir together to combine, and set aside.  In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the sugar, brown sugar and canola oil.  Mix until smooth.  Add in the eggs and vanilla extract and beat until incorporated.  Add in the dry ingredients in two additions, alternately with the milk, mixing each addition just until incorporated.  Mix in the shredded carrot.  Using a rubber spatula, gently fold in the coconut, raisins, and nuts (if using).  Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.

Bake for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean.  Allow to cool in the pan 5 minutes, then remove the muffins to a wire rack to cool completely

Source: adapted from Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

20 Responses

  1. do you have a suggestion for an alternative to raisins? my family (or should i say kiddos) are of the non raisin group and since they’re the majority i sort of have to please them. 🙂

  2. I haven’t tried these yet, but I keep drooling over them in Dorie’s book! Glad you liked them!! They look awesome!!

  3. annie, I love your blog and appreciate how well you keep it updated. I know I can always count on you for something delicious as well as visually stunning. You are very talented. Keep up the good work!

  4. Wow! These look incredible! I am on the hunt for a good muffin recipe – this just might be it! What a great blog! Love the pics!

  5. I can’t wait to try these out today! Sheree I would say you could substitute any dried fruit for the raisins, maybe craisins? Or dried apples? I haven’t made these yet but I think any would be equally as yummy!

  6. I just finished making these muffins and they are really a hit in my household. Next time I will try them with some dried apples as was suggested in a previous comment. Anyway’s we really enjoyed them and they came out wonderful.

  7. […] Groovy Green Smoothie 2. Spiced Carrot Muffins 3. Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies […]

  8. […] of chocolate chips. So in an effort to keep that sort of snacking to a minimum, I made these muffins recently. They are really good…Drew and I really enjoyed them! […]

  9. […] of chocolate chips. So in an effort to keep that sort of snacking to a minimum, I made these muffins recently. They are really good…Drew and I really enjoyed them! […]

  10. […] – Carrot Spice Muffins – These muffins are really great! […]

  11. About how many does this make?

  12. […] Breakfast – Carrot Spice Muffins, Smoothie Lunch – Leftover Baked Potatoes Dinner – Ground Beef Chimichangas, Rice, […]

  13. […] Breakfast – Carrot Spice Muffins, Smoothie Lunch – Sloppy Joes, Hashbrowns Dinner – Slow Cooker Chicken Parmigiana, […]

  14. […] Carrot Spice Muffins 2. Pancakes 3. Peanut Butter and Chocolate Balls 4. Double Chocolate Muffins 5. Cook chicken 6. […]

  15. […] Breakfast – Carrot Spice Muffins Lunch – Spicy Sweet Potatoes Dinner – Stroganoff, Pasta Salad, Garlic Bread, […]

  16. Please add me to your email list! I found your site via mykitchencafe.blogspot.

    • Melody,
      If you would like to subscribe to my posts via email, click on “Entries RSS” just under the pots/pans on the top right of my homepage and go from there.

  17. I made these for colleagues on a training course and they loved them. They were so soft and full of flavour. I added a cream cheese glace which gave them an extra oomph!!. Btw i LOVE your site. Next are the pineapple muffins!

Leave a comment