Chicken Parmesan

I first made this recipe months ago, back in the summertime. I had a nice photo all lined up, pressed the button to take the picture and my camera battery died. I was very disappointed – especially when I tasted how fantastic it was! This is a recipe that REALLY needed to be shared. I have made it many, many times since then but for one reason or another never remembered to blog about it. Last week I decided it was finally time, it was unfair of me to deprive you for so long. This is an absolutely awesome dinner, and even more awesome when you realize how simple it is to make.

Technically this is “lighter chicken Parmesan” because you do not fry the chicken at all before baking, as with the traditional version. However, I vastly prefer this to my old classic recipe. I will not be making that again. The panko breadcrumbs provide just the right amount of crispness, the chicken is perfectly cooked through, and the coating has fantastic flavor. The only thing that makes it better is some chopped fresh basil on top, but sadly my herb garden is out of commission for the winter and our store didn’t have fresh basil when I was shopping (gasp!) Served over a bed of angel hair and with a side Caesar salad, it is one of my favorite meals.

Recipe Rewind: tried and true favorites I’ve made recently
Honey Yeast Rolls

Chicken Parmesan
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups panko breadcrumbs
1 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus extra for serving
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
salt and pepper
3 large egg whites
1 tbsp. water
vegetable cooking spray
2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts, butterflied and cut into halves (4 pieces total)
2 cups marinara sauce, warmed
about 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1 tbsp. minced fresh basil

Directions:
Adjust an oven rack to the middle position.  Preheat the oven to 475 degrees F.  Combine the breadcrumbs and oil in a 12-inch skillet and toast over medium heat until golden, stirring often, about 10 minutes.  Spread the breadcrumbs in a shallow dish and allow to cool slightly; when cool, stir in the Parmesan.

In a second shallow dish, combine the flour, garlic powder, 1 tablespoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon pepper together.  In a third shallow dish whisk together the egg whites and water.

Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and spray the foil with vegetable oil spray.  Pat the chicken dry with paper towels, then season with salt and pepper.  Lightly dredge each chicken piece in the flour to coat completely, shaking off the excess.  Then dip into the egg whites and finally coat with the breadcrumb mixture.  Press on the breadcrumbs to make sure they adhere.  Place the chicken pieces on the prepared baking sheet.

Bake until the chicken is no longer pink and feels firm when pressed with a finger, about 15 minutes.  Remove the chicken from the oven.  Spoon 2 tablespoons of marinara sauce over the top of each piece of chicken and top with 2 tablespoons of the shredded mozzarella.  Return the chicken to the oven and continue to bake until the cheese is melted, about 5 minutes.  Sprinkle with the fresh basil and serve as desired, with extra Parmesan and marinara sauce.

Source: adapted from Brown Eyed Baker, originally from Cook’s Illustrated, October 2006 

24 Responses

  1. That is a beautiful picture and it’s making me hungry even though we just ate dinner! I also bake my chicken parm instead of frying it and I don’t miss the frying at all!!

  2. Would you say this makes 4 servings, or two? It looks like the recipe you adapted from used 3 chicken breasts, but I didn’t see a serving number on either. Just makes it easier to plan meals. Thanks!

  3. Looks delicious and a favorite dish of ours!

  4. A true classic, you can’t go wrong with this one!

  5. I love chicken parm and I’m totally jealous how great your photograph turned out. My picture doesn’t look as appetizing. Great post, panko is the best!

  6. So glad you enjoyed this – your picture is gorgeous – it looks like it came out of a magazine!

  7. This looks fab! Great photo 🙂

  8. I made this last night and it was delicious. My husband loved it! Thank you for sharing the recipe.

  9. I mostly make your baked good recipes, but I made this for my BF the other day..and he cant stop talking about it to everyone. he LOVED it. he said it was the best chicken parm he has ever had, and he even grew up working in an italian restaurant! thanks for the recipes, keep em coming!

  10. So, I’ve been baking and loving your recipes for a while, but this is definitely a new favorite. 🙂 My husband and I loved it and even our 1 and 3 year old boys liked it! (that’s HUGE!) Love the Panko breadcrumbs. I posted it on my blog with a link to yours–hope that’s okay!?!
    Also, your delicious chocolate chip cookies…I think they’re to blame for my tight waistband!! Another family favorite! Thanks! 🙂

  11. […] is a Cook’s Illistrated recipe, as seen on Annie’s Eats.  I made a few changes that are noted below in […]

  12. Hi Annie! I made this last night and it was DELISH! Thanks for sharing! Do you think any leftovers would freeze well?

    Thanks!

    • Hi Lorie!
      I am so glad you enjoyed the chicken Parmesan! I would assume that leftovers would freeze okay, but I’ve never tried it myself. Good luck!
      🙂 Annie

  13. […] – Chicken Parmesan with spaghetti Tags Select Category bars breakfast brownies candy casserole chicken chocolate […]

  14. This was so yummy! MY hubby LOVED it too! Thanks for sharing the recipe! 🙂

  15. I’ve made this twice and both times it has been a hit. I like to serve it with a slice of lemon to squeeze over the top, it makes it even better!

  16. My husband made this tonight and it was so good and so easy! The crust is the best!

  17. I made this for my mother’s birthday tonight – and I recieved the same response from everyone: “This is the best meal….ever.”

  18. Oh my goodness. This is the absolute best recipe for chicken parm ever! I always order this when I go out to eat, but could never get it to taste the same at home. Thank you for the secret, panko crumbs! I used 2 eggs instead of egg whites, but I did everything else the same, and I loved it! Thanks!!

  19. I’ll have to try this soon! It looks incredibly easy!

  20. I bookmarked this page a few weeks ago and finally had time to make this 2nite. It was so bleeping good!!! Thank you!

  21. Fabulous dinner last night and leftovers for lunch today! Thanks Annie.

  22. This was AWESOME! My family loved it! I will be making this again and again!

  23. We had this for dinner tonight and my husband and I both LOVED it. It was so yummy! We finished off the meal with your Oreo Cheese Cake Swirl Brownies – also so good! Thanks for always posting such great recipes.

Leave a comment