Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

pumpkin-whoopie-pies

Last week I was very fortunate to have the Thanksgiving holiday off from working in the ER.  Unfortunately, the vast majority of my fellow med students did have to work and many were not able to spend time with their families.  Honestly, I felt a little bad that I was the only one who got the day off (well, the whole week really) and since I was already planning on baking all day on Wednesday, I thought I would make a treat for those working in the ER to enjoy on turkey day!  I wanted something made in individual portions, and something that could be left in the refrigerator for people to grab whenever they had a chance.  These little babies seemed like the perfect fit.

I had such fun making these, and everything came together very smoothly.  I used my Pampered Chef medium scoop to drop the dough and it was just the right size.  Next time I would probably only make a half batch or 3/4 batch of the filling, as I had a TON left over.  Since I didn’t work any shifts after Thanksgiving, I never heard from my colleagues whether or not they liked these, but I had quite a few left over for myself and I am just crazy about them!  I’m just going to assume my friends felt the same way 🙂

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Yield: about 32 sandwich cookies

Ingredients:
For the pumpkin cookies:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
2 tbsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ground ginger
½ tsp. ground nutmeg
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup dark brown sugar, firmly packed
1 cup canola oil
3 cups chilled pumpkin puree
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract

For the maple cream cheese filling:
3 cups powdered sugar
½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
8 oz. cream cheese, at room temperature
3 tbsp. maple syrup
1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:
To make the pumpkin cookies, preheat the oven to 350° F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and spices.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, whisk sugars and oil together.  Add the pumpkin puree and whisk to combine thoroughly.  Add the eggs and vanilla and whisk until combined.  Sprinkle the flour mixture over the pumpkin mixture and whisk until completely combined.

Use a small ice cream scoop with a release mechanism to drop the dough onto the prepared baking sheets (about 1.5-2 tablespoons.), about 1 inch apart.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the cookies are just starting to crack on top and a toothpick inserted into the center of a cookie comes out clean.  Remove from the oven and let the cookies cool on the pan for about 10 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  Repeat with remaining dough.

To make the filling, in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment beat the butter until smooth with no visible lumps.  Add the cream cheese and beat until combined.  Add the powdered sugar, maple syrup and vanilla and beat until smooth.  Be careful not to overbeat the filling or it will lose structure.

To assemble, turn half of the cooled cookies upside down.  Pipe filling onto the flat side of the overturned cookies.  Place another cookie, flat side down, on top of the filling.  Press down slightly so that the filling spreads to the edges of the cookie.  Repeat until all the cookies are used.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to firm before serving.

Source: adapted from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody

21 Responses

  1. These look great!! You are so sweet to make something for your colleagues that had to work!

  2. What a great flavor for whoopie pies! They came out wonderful and I’m sure pretty tasty too 🙂

  3. That was so nice of you to bake and share, I bet the were gobbled up in no time, they look wonderful!

  4. I’ve made these for our BYOP party the last two years and they were a hit! Very cool you shared them with your colleagues. I bet you’re a favorite around there! 🙂

  5. ooh, i totally want to try these! they look deelish!!

  6. Super cute! Love these!!!

  7. Is there a way to subscribe to this blog? I can’t wait to try the recipes. Yumm

  8. You are so sweet. We fed some homeless residents on Thanksgiving too since most of them didn’t get enough time off to go home. I’m sure the cookies made it a little easier to work on Thanksgiving.

  9. These look delicious. That was very sweet of you to think of your friends that had to work.

  10. These look so yummy! And it was SO sweet of you to make them for your colleagues!

  11. I made a smiliar recipe for a picnic back in the fall and they were a HUGE hit with all ages!

  12. […] Pumpkin Whoopie Pies by Annie’s Eats […]

  13. Great flavors! Even though we’re totally out of the fall, we’d love to make these.

  14. My cookie ‘dough’ wasn’t very thick…and I did check my ingredients carefully. My dough wouldn’t have scooped with an ice cream scooper so I just dollopped the dough on the sheet. The baking powder addition was left out of the first PP of how to mix the ingredients. I noticed and added it. Please modify recipe to state these should NOT be undercooked at all – that was my error on the first batch even though the toothpick came out clean. Now my question – how should these be stored? I have a feeling they should not be kept in an air-tight container as they would get goopy. They taste wonderful and with a few modifications on my end as mentioned above, my next batch will be even better. LOVE THE FILLING!

    • Sorry you had trouble with these. I’ve had many others make them without trouble, so I’m not sure what went wrong to cause the dough to be thin. I have added the baking powder to the directions portion of the recipe. I stored mine in the refrigerator due to the filling and thought they were fine that way.
      🙂 Annie

  15. Did you get this recipe from Martha Stewart. I can see that you changed some. I like your idea adding maple syrup. 🙂

    http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/pumpkin-whoopie-pies.

    • My source is always listed at the bottom of each post.

      • Ohh I didnt know about that. Sorry. Love your blog! You did a great job! Im looking at your blog everyday!!!! I will definitely use this recipe first week of October! Thank you!
        🙂

  16. I just moved into our new apartment complex and I made these for some of our new neighbors and boy did they go fast, super easy to make and taste delicious..thank you so much for posting this recipe 🙂

  17. Oh my – these are WONDERFUL! It’s the first weekend in October and I’m having guests for dinner. Chili, Chicken Strips and Pumpkin Whoopie Pies. Life doesn’t get any better!

    Thanks for the fab recipe and I’ll look forward to reading Annie Eats when I have more time! Happy Fall to you!

  18. Annie, thank you for another great recipe! I thought I would be sneaky and replace the oil with unsweetened applesauce. Sadly, this resulted in cookies that were a bit too sticky/moist. Not-so-whoopie-pies were the end result: great flavor, but the texture was off. I’ve learned my lesson and I’ll follow the recipe to the letter when I bake another round for my friends next week!

Leave a comment