Cream of Mushroom Soup

cream-of-mushroom-soup-1

I have been all about soup lately.  I guess it’s the weather that puts me in the mood, but I also love simple meals that simmer for a long time making the whole house smell great.  This recipe has been on my list to try for a while, but I kept putting it off…I think because I just wasn’t sure how good it would really be.  Well, that was stupid.  (Note to self: always trust Ina!)  It was SO so so good.  I considered making a half batch because I wasn’t sure I would want the leftovers, but the leftovers were great and we ate every last drop of the full batch.  This will definitely make many future appearances ate our dinner table.

cream-of-mushroom-soup-2

Taking the time to make the vegetable stock may seem unnecessary to some, but I really think it added a ton of flavor to this dish.  This was my first time ever cooking with leeks, and now I have no idea why I shied away from them before.  They are kind of like giant, mild tasting green onions, and they contributed nicely to the texture of the soup.  We had this with salad and bread a wonderful meal.

Recipe Rewind: tried and true favorites I’ve made recently
Spicy Shredded Pork

Cream of Mushroom Soup
Ingredients:
8 oz. white button mushrooms
8 oz. baby bella mushrooms
1 tbsp. olive oil
3 tbsp. unsalted butter, divided
1 cup chopped yellow onion
1 carrot, peeled and chopped
1 sprig fresh thyme, plus 1 tsp. minced thyme leaves, divided
kosher salt
black pepper
2 cups chopped leeks, white and green parts
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup dry white wine
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup milk (I used 1%)
3 tbsp. minced fresh flat-leaf parsley

Directions:
Clean the mushrooms by wiping them gently with a slightly damp paper towel.  Do not wash them.  Separate the stems from the caps.  Coarsely chop the stems.  Slice the caps, cutting in half if necessary so pieces are bite-sized.  Set aside.

To prepare the stock, heat the olive oil and 1 tablespoon butter in a Dutch oven over medium heat.  When the butter is melted, add the chopped mushroom stems, onion, carrot, sprig of thyme, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 tsp. pepper.  Cook over medium-low heat for 10-15 minutes, until the vegetables are soft.  Add 6 cups water, bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer uncovered for 30 minutes.  Strain through a mesh sieve, reserving the liquid (discard the solids).  You should have about 4 1/2 cups liquid.  If not, add some water to make up the difference.

Meanwhile, in another large pot, heat the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter over medium heat.  Add the leeks and cook over low heat, 15-20 minutes, until the leeks begin to brown.  Add the sliced mushroom caps and cook for 10 minutes, or until they are browned and tender.  Add the flour and cook for 1 minute.  Add the white wine and stir for another minute, scraping the bottom of the pot.  Add the mushroom stock, minced thyme leaves, 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of pepper, and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat and simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the heavy cream, milk and parsley.  Adjust seasonings to taste and heat through but do not boil.  Serve hot.

Source: adapted from Brown Eyed Baker, originally from Ina Garten

8 Responses

  1. Looks yummy- I love Ina, and I love leeks! Perfect combination.

  2. Mmm… I’ve been craving soups this winter season!

    Something for you on my blog!

  3. This looks wonderful. I love Ina Garten. Mushrooms are one of my favorites. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Looks delicious and flavorful!

  5. I love mushroom soup – I always add a cup or so rinsed pearl barley, so de-lish and it ups the fiber a bit

  6. I am bookmarking this for a day when I have to make myself dinner without my husband (who really doesn’t like mushrooms, although sometimes he eats them just to be nice. 🙂 ) I’m sure I would love the leftovers for lunches at work, too!

  7. Looks tasty… I’ve been craving cream of mushroom lately- it’s one of my favorites- and I’ve been stuck with the canned stuff. Not bad, but certainly not as good as homemade.

    Was this a thick and creamy version, or more brothy with a liquid cream base? I do like my mushroom soup thick…

  8. I made this for my husband’s birthday dinner this weekend with friends (along with your homemade chicken pot pies) and it was absolutely FANTASTIC. He doesn’t typically like mushrooms, but loved it and so did everyone else. This is a new fall/winter staple in our house.

Leave a comment