Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Well loyal readers, get ready for a bit of a lull in posting here on Annie’s Eats.  I just received my schedule for my rotation next month and it’s pretty much going to be terrible.  I have 4 days off all month, work one week of 13-hour night shifts, and 11 hour shifts the whole rest of the month.  Yeah, not good.  Not to mention, the hospital is almost an hour away from my house, so I’ll lose another two hours driving each day.  So, although I have a whole slew of delicious things waiting to be posted at the moment, I’m going to spread them out a bit to hold us over through the month of April since I anticipate no cooking or baking at all 😦

In the meantime though, here is a delicious coffee cake!  Last week Ben’s school had one of their pitch-in staff breakfasts.  I always try to send something for these so we don’t waste money on a less tasty store-bought item, and also because it gives me the opportunity to try another new recipe.  Normally I omit nuts from most things that I bake, but I am not completely averse to walnuts so I gave them a try.  This is a really, really good coffee cake.  It is very moist and soft, and so tasty!  It must have been a hit with the teachers as well because Ben came home with an empty dish.  I didn’t get a picture of the inside once cut, but it has a swirl of streusel mixture running through the middle.  The only thing I wasn’t crazy about was the streusel topping – it tasted fine, but it really wasn’t as clumpy as I think it should have been.  It seemed like there wasn’t enough butter to cut into the dry ingredients, so it ended up more of a sandy mixture.  Next time I would add at least one or two more tablespoons of butter to the streusel mixture to achieve a clumpier texture.  Otherwise, this was easy to make and yummy to eat!

Sour Cream Coffee Cake
Ingredients:
For the cake:
12 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 eggs, at room temperature
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups sour cream
2 1/2 cups cake flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt

For the streusel:
1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
3 tbsp. cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces (I’ll use 4-5 tbsp. next time)
3/4 cup chopped walnuts, optional

For the maple glaze:
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 tbsp. real maple syrup

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease and flour a 10-inch tube pan.

Cream the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment on medium-high speed for 4-5 minutes, until light and fluffy.  Beat in the eggs one at a time, then add in the vanilla and sour cream, scraping down the bowl between additions.  In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  With the mixer on low, add the flour mixture to the batter until just combined.  

For the streusel, place the brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and salt in a bowl and mix together with a fork.  Add in the butter and pinch together with your fingers until it forms a crumble.  Mix in the walnuts, if desired.  

Spoon half of the batter into the prepared pan and spread it out with a knife.  Sprinkle with 3/4 cup of the streusel mixture.  Spoon the rest of the batter into the pan, spread it out, and sprinkle with remaining streusel on top.  Bake for 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  

Let cool on a wire rack for at least 30 minutes.  Carefully transfer the cake, streusel side up, onto a serving plate.  Whisk together the confectioners’ sugar and maple syrup, adding a few drops of water if necessary to make it runny.  Drizzle as much glaze as you like over the cake with the whisk, a fork or a spoon.  

Source: adapted from Brown Eyed Baker, originally from Ina Garten

18 Responses

  1. Hang in there with your new schedule!!

    Mmm, lovely coffee cake variety.

  2. this one is definitely one of our faves! good luck with your rotation next month – it sounds like a doozy!!!

  3. Wow, Annie, that sounds terrible (the schedule, not the cake). Hopefully it’ll be over before you know it.

  4. Hey! I stumbled across your blog yesterday and I have already marked quite a few of your recipes to try out. Also I found your baby food section and I just wanted to tell you how completely awesome I think that is. I don’t have any children yet, but I will definitely keep that in mind when I do!

  5. Sounds like you are going to be super busy! Maybe some good crockpot days? The coffee cake looks great!

  6. I’ll definitely miss your regular posting. Hang in there…it’s all worth it in the end. 🙂

    On another note, this looks absolutely delicious!

  7. Wow now that is a crazy schedule – but no worries your loyal readers are not going anywhere!!

    Love this recipe as I can imagine eating a great big slice with a large cup of coffee!!

  8. Oh no! That schedule sounds pretty brutal. Good luck! And your coffee cake looks delicious. I’ll have to give it a try.

  9. I’ve been thinking about making this for when my in laws visit in a couple of weeks. It looks delicious. I hope your rotation goes by fast so you can get a break soon!

  10. Wow!! Yum!! I love how the glaze is just dripping its sweetness over the cake, but it’s not too much of it – just right.

  11. Wow this sounds to die for. I hate those kind of schedules all you can think about is the dollars. Good Luck

    • Lynette, haha, I WISH it was about the dollars! Since I’m still a med student, I’m paying a hefty sum of money to be tortured this way 🙂

  12. Wow, that’s some schedule!

    Your coffee cake looks and sounds delish. Thanks for the heads up on the crumb topping.
    ~ingrid

  13. Looks great. I love coffee cakes, pound cakes, etc, etc!!!

  14. Good luck with your rotation! Your schedule sounds downright cruel, even though it might be typical for medical students. One positive thing is afterwards you’ll be one month closer to completing your degree 🙂 Your coffee cake picture looks beautiful by the way!

  15. Sorry you have such a stressful schedule coming up, that’s the pits. Hopefully it will go by quickly! Thanks for sharing this recipe, it looks divine!

  16. This recipe states to use a tube pan but could I also use a bundt pan?

Leave a Reply

