Spicy Citrus Black Beans

I was looking for a side dish to go with the honey chipotle glazed chicken, and thought these black beans sounded like just the thing.  (Apparently I have a thing for grilled chicken with black beans as you can see here and here.)  I made numerous modifications from the original recipe to suit our tastes and my schedule.  I really do my best to avoid convenience foods as much as possible, but canned beans are one thing I don’t think I can give up.  I am a busy woman and I just do not have the time to rehydrate dried beans!  So, I used canned beans in order to help make this weeknight-friendly.  I also reduced the amount of liquid drastically because I like a more chunky mixture.  These were absolutely delicious, but next time I think I will add even more lime juice (and maybe even lime zest) to play up the citrus flavor, and will mix in some chopped cilantro in addition to that used for garnish.  Topped with some sour cream, salsa and of course a little shredded cheese, these could be a meal on their own!

Spicy Citrus Black Beans
Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:
1 (28 oz.) can black beans
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 yellow onion, chopped
pepper, chopped or minced (bell, Anaheim or jalapeno depending on your taste)
½-1 cup reduced-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1½ tsp. dried oregano
2 bay leaves
½ tsp. salt
3 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 tsp. pureed chipotles in adobo
1½ tsp. ground cumin
¼ cup freshly squeezed orange juice
Juice of 2 limes (added lime zest – optional)
1 tbsp. white wine vinegar
Chopped fresh cilantro, to taste, plus more for garnish

Directions:
Place the beans in a colander and rinse throughly.  Heat the olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat.  Sauté the onion and pepper until tender, about 5-7 minutes.   Add the garlic and sauté just until fragrant, about 1 minute.  Stir in the beans.  Mix in broth (more or less depending on how much liquid you would like) and bring to a simmer.  Mix in the oregano, bay leaves, salt, chipotle puree, cumin, orange juice, lime juice and vinegar.  Once simmering, reduce to medium-low or low and let simmer, covered, 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove from the heat, stir in chopped fresh cilantro to taste and serve.

Source: heavily adapted from Simply Recipes

10 Responses

  1. I love black beans! Besides beyond super good for you they taste amazing. I will have to give this recipe a try. I’m always looking for something new in the side dish department.

  2. maybe you could soak the beans in water before you go to work? then they will be nice and plump by the time you get back 🙂

    • Hi Sammi,
      I’m already busy as can be in the morning, and I still have to leave by 6:45 am. I don’t think dried beans are in the cards for me.
      🙂 Annie

  3. Annie- I wouldn’t think that canned black beans are “convenience foods” at all…they are just beans and water. I would put them in the same boat as boneless skinless chicken – the hard work was already done for you – but the product is the same. I think of convenience foods as frozen pizza, boxed mac and cheese, etc….which are completely different (and so much better) homemade. 🙂

  4. I love these beans! All the flavors and spices sound perfect together. I love black beans and am always looking for new recipes to make them.

  5. It’s easy to have a “thing” for that combo…they’re like meant to go together! These look great.

  6. I looove black beans. They are probably one of my favorite foods…so versatile. These look fantastic!

  7. Hey Annie,

    We made these last night and they were DELISH! Hubby is taking the leftovers to work today with rice for lunch. Just so you are aware, at no point in the recipe does it say where to add the beans. We just added them in after the sauteeing process as that is where it seemed most logical, but you may want to add them in somewhere for other readers.

    Thanks for all the wonderful recipes. We are making the gyros tonight (for the third time). So far, they’re the best thing we’ve made (though I still have a lot of the desserts bookmarked!)

    • Hi AEOT,
      Oops, so glad you caught that! I must have been typing this one late at night. Anyway, glad you enjoyed them and I have now corrected the error.
      🙂 Annie

  8. These were amazing! I made them last night with the honey chipotle chicken and they were a big hit with the bf and I. Thanks for posting them, they are are bookmarked as keepers in this household. 🙂

Leave a comment