Owl Cupcakes

One of Ben’s coworkers LOVES owls.   She collects all kinds of owl stuff, and as soon as I saw these cupcakes in my Hello, Cupcake book, I knew I had to make them for her.  Last month was her birthday, so it was the perfect opportunity!  Unfortunately, Ben didn’t tell me it was her birthday until the night before so I didn’t have time to make them for the actual day.  Then, I started working crazy shifts and before I knew it, it was a whole month later and I still hadn’t made the cupcakes!  I decided it was just time, so on my day off I made it happen.  They weren’t difficult to make, just a bit time consuming.  Glad I finally got around to making them.  So, happy (very belated) birthday Elizabeth!


Supplies Needed: (not all pictured above)
1 batch of Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate cupcakes – 12 regular and 24 minis
1 package regular Oreos
1 package mini Oreos
1-2 cans store-bought chocolate frosting
1 can store-bought vanilla frosting
1 package Runts
1 package Junior Mints
1 large bag M&Ms
 

You will need enough Oreos with icing to make a pair of eyes for each cupcake (so 24 big Oreos and 48 minis).  Probably the most time consuming part of the whole thing was prepping all the Oreos.  The easiest way to get separate them while keeping all of the filling on one side was to use a butter knife to split them.  I scraped over the top of the filling to remove some of the extra crumbs as best I could.  

Using the other half of the Oreo (without the icing), cut out the shapes for the ears.  For the mini Oreos, just cut them in half.  For the large Oreos, cut each cookie into thirds and use the rounded pieces for ears.  Take note, it is really hard to cut Oreos without shattering them.  You will probably need some extras to have enough unbroken pieces.  It’s okay if they break a little bit though, they will be covered in frosting so they don’t need to look perfect.  

From here on out, it’s smooth sailing.  Frost the cupcakes using store-bought frosting.  Use a nice thick coat so all the cookies and candy will stick to it well.  

This is the fun part!  For the baby owls, use the iced mini Oreos you prepped to make the eyeballs, the cut mini Oreos to be the ears, and yellow M&Ms to be the beaks.  

Do the same for the full-size cupcakes, except use banana Runts as the beaks.  

I didn’t take pictures of the final steps, but basically, use a pastry bag fitted with a small round tip and filled with vanilla frosting to pipe a small dot of frosting onto each “eyeball”.  Press on M&Ms for the pupils of the baby owls and Junior Mints for the big owls.  (Placing the pupils in different parts of the eyes to make them appear to be looking different directions gives them so much expression!)

Then, using another pastry bag fitted with a V-shaped tip and filled with chocolate frosting, pipe frosting over the ear cookie pieces.  Pipe feathers on the edges of the top half of each cupcake (just underneath the cookies eyeballs) to make your owls cute and fluffy.  That’s it!

Amazingly, even though I bought a full-size bag of M&Ms, I did not have enough brown ones to use as pupils for all the baby owls.  So I decided to branch out and give some of them blue and green eyes – and I thought they looked SUPER cute that way!

Source: adapted from Hello, Cupcake by Alan Richardson and Karen Tack

54 Responses

  1. These are very cute! I love the owl in the bottom right hand corner of the first picture.

  2. These are the cutest cupcakes! Thanks for the share.

  3. These are SO cute!!!! I especially love the mini ones!

  4. Super cute!

  5. Annie these are so cool!

  6. I LOVE these. I have had this book for a long time but have only made one thing out of it (the aliens). I REALLY need to make more of them!

    I think I have made more things out of your blog recently than out of anyone else’s. ❤ your stuff. 🙂

  7. These are the best cupcakes ever!!

  8. These have to be the cutest cupcakes I have ever seen!!! Good job!

  9. These are SO adorable! A friend of mine works with owls–now I know what to make for her birthday next year!

  10. I love them! How creative!

  11. Those cupcakes look super cute!! Thanks for the detailed instructions and photos! What did your husband’s coworker say when she saw them?

    Isn’t the Hershey’s cake recipe the best? It is my go-to chocolate cake/cupcake recipe.

  12. I love that!

  13. These are awesome, great to look at, artisitically but I bet they were yummy too! Hope you got a cupcake to try out for yourself too! Nice work!

  14. omg you totally rock! These are the cutest cupcakes ever!

  15. OMG…Too Cute!

  16. These are so stinkin’ cute!

  17. Great job! They came out terrific!
    ~ingrid

  18. Those are SO adorable!

  19. Those are really cute, but insanely creepy without the pupils.

  20. Super! I simply adore owls and these are too cute for words!

  21. This is so so cute. I love it

  22. wow nicer idea for my search for animal theme cupcakes

  23. Oh wow! They look incredible. Are you sure you didnt buy them and pass them off as your own! only joking, wish I could make something that looked like that, only I think mine would look like the owl flew into the side of the tree!

  24. Those look so cool! I’m sure the owl lover thought they were a WHOot! (lol – cheesy, I know)

  25. I’m totally gonna make those for our annual Craft and Bake Sale that benefits the Wildlife Center I work for. I love owls and I love cupcakes! Perfect combo!

  26. I have this book, and I’ve wanted to make the owl cupcakes since Christmas. Yours look absolutely amazing!

  27. Soooo Adorable! Great job Annie!

  28. ADORABLE!!!!!! You are so creative!!!

  29. I’m IN LOVE with these!!!! So adorable.

  30. Those a just too cute…love em!

  31. These are so adorable and very creative!

  32. This idea is fantastic!!! I need a reason to make these… love it!

  33. I love owls, I just had to stop by and see! Sooo adorable!

  34. How fun! I would love to get those on my birthday 🙂

  35. They’re SO cute – I need to get that book!!

  36. You did such a great job on these. I’ve been wanting to make these… I planned to make them last year for halloween, but I’ll have to come up with another date. I hope mine turn out as cute as yours. I LOVE owls!!

  37. Ahh! These are adorable! My college mascot was the owl and I love owl stuff too.

  38. My son loves your cupcake owls! He kept asking me to show your site to him and said,” yumm, yumm, un goût.” LOL Thank you for such lovely idea and recipe!

  39. these are so fun! way to go!

  40. Super super cute! You must check out, however, the homemade oreos recipe at Smitten Kitchen. Super easy and sooo delish.

    • Hi Ariana,
      Yes, I have actually had those homemade Oreos bookmarked for a long time and can’t wait to try them. There is NO way that I would make homemade Oreos for cupcakes that already take over two hours to decorate though!
      🙂 Annie

  41. The cupcakes would never get made if I were making them… I’d eat all the pieces!

  42. oh my goodness! So creative!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  43. […] Owl Cupcakes One of Ben’s coworkers LOVES owls.   She collects all kinds of owl stuff, and as soon as I saw these cupcakes […] […]

  44. This is the best! My sister absolutely LOVES owls, and now I can make her these. Thanks so much!

  45. Hi Annie,

    We love the owls, especially the blue and grenn eyed ones. Never enough chocolate in a bag to get them all done! I am sure your friend loved them, what a nice gesture. Hope to see more of your cupckes soon. All the best and keep on cupcaking!

    Alan Richardson and Karen Tack, authors of Hello, Cupcake!

  46. these are seriously seriously too cute to eat! kinda makes me think of hedwig’s twin!:)

  47. How creative and so very cute!

  48. I JUST bought this book yesterday, and am dying to make something out of it! These are absolutely adorable!

  49. Those are so freakin cute! I gave my copy of that book to my cousin… Maybe I’ll convince her to let me borrow it! 😀

    Don’t you LOVE hershey’s cupcakes?!?!?!

  50. Oh how cute!! I’ve been away from blogging and away from my RSS reader that I’m shocked to see how many updates you have! They are all great! These are so adorable. I’ve got to get back to blogging, but just need the break right now. 🙂 Can’t wait to see more of your updates!

  51. So adorable. Great job Annie.

  52. […] them out in Oreo cookies, Junior Mints, and Peanut M&M’s.  Check out the full recipe at Annie’s Eats […]

  53. These are just too cute! I plan on making a vanilla version of these for a Harry Potter themed Christmas party that I’m attending. They will be little Hedwigs!

Leave a comment