Baked Shrimp in Tomato Feta Sauce

I’m always looking for new ways to prepare shrimp since it is such a healthy and delicious seafood.  It seems like the vast majority of shrimp recipes I already have are some sort of pasta dish, and while I LOVE shrimp pasta, I have about five favorite shrimp pasta recipes – no joke.  So, when I saw this recipe I was thrilled.  It is an incredibly quick and simple meal, and definitely healthy.  And fast, good-for-you recipes that also taste AWESOME are something I am always happy to find!  I served this atop a basic couscous, but it would be great with just some crusty bread, rice, or yes, even pasta (if you don’t already have a ton of shrimp pasta recipes).  Or, simply eat it on its own.  I ate the leftovers with no starch to accompany it and it was still delicious and filling.  You can prepare this in an oven-proof skillet and bake it in the same dish, transfer it to a baking dish, or use a Dutch oven for the whole process – whatever floats your boat!

Baked Shrimp in Tomato Feta Sauce
Ingredients:
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes, with juices
1/4 cup minced fresh parsley
1 tbsp. minced fresh dill or 1 tsp. dried dill
1 to 1 1/4 lbs. medium raw shrimp, peeled and deveined (thawed if frozen)
Salt and pepper, to taste
3 oz. feta cheese (about 2/3 cup, crumbled)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the onions and cook until soft, 3-5 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds more.  Add the tomatoes and bring to a simmer.  Reduce the heat and let the sauce simmer for 5-10 minutes, until the juices thicken a bit.  Remove the sauce from the heat, and stir in the herbs, shrimp, feta cheese, and salt and pepper to taste.

Transfer to a baking dish, if desired, and bake until the shrimp are cooked through, about 10-12 minutes.  Serve immediately. 

Source: adapted from Simply Recipes

15 Responses

  1. Wow, this looks amazing! It wouldn’t be my husband’s favorite, so it’s *perfect* for a girls night or for myself when he’s working late 🙂

  2. This looks incredible! I will definitely give this recipe a try asap. 🙂

  3. I think I’ll make a vegetarian version of this. I have some leftover feta from a few recipes I’ve made recently and this might be the perfect way to use the last bit.

  4. I have made a version of this so many times and I cannot tell you how wonderful this is!! I have even put it on top of whole wheat pasta and it is amazing!!!

  5. shrimp, feta and tomatoes in any form is a good, done deal. love this!

  6. This looks delicious! Definitely will make this soon!

  7. This looks healthy and delicious. Your photo is great too!

  8. Looks wonderful! I am always looking for more ways to make shrimp!

  9. Love your blog, have been following for a while. I’ve bookmarked tons of your dishes in my “recipes to try” folder! I’m just curious about this dish, it sounds delicious, but I’m not a big fan of feta. Think I could leave it out or substitute and it would still be good? Thanks, Annie!

    • Hi Allison,
      Thanks for the message. I am sure this recipe would be great without the feta, but I think it would be best with some kind of cheese mixed in to add a little creaminess (that is really the main role of the feta in this dish). If you like goat cheese, that would be a great substitute. If not, maybe a little bit of mascarpone or ricotta mixed in, or some fresh mozzarella diced small.
      Good luck!
      🙂 Annie

      • Thanks, Annie! I think I will try mozzarella. I was telling my husband about this dish – we can’t wait to try it!

  10. This looks fantastic! All the colors and the tomato feta sauce sounds wonderful!

  11. This is one of my favorite ways to enjoy shrimp! The shrimp tomato combo works really well.

  12. […] found this recipe for Baked Shrimp with Tomato Feta Sauce on Annie’s Eats, so I’m not going to spell it out here. This was a really delicious […]

  13. I’m making this for my dad’s birthday dinner on Sunday. I think I’ll butterfly the shrimp and put it over linguine though.

Leave a Reply

